Quick links:
 Latest Team Rankings
 Free Rivals Alerts
 Member Services
ShopMobileRadio RSSRivals.com Yahoo! Sports

December 9, 2012

Arizona RBs coach earns national award

With an offense that ranks seventh in the country and features the nation's top rusher, Arizona co-offensive coordinator Calvin Magee was recognized Sunday as the FootballScoop running backs coach of the year.

Magee has helped the Wildcats post the 15th-best rushing attack in the country, led by sophomore star Ka'Deem Carey's 1,757 rushing yards and 20 touchdowns on the ground.

Carey's 146.4 rushing yards per game leads Nevada's Stefphon Jefferson, who will bring his 141.9 average into Saturday's Gildan New Mexico Bowl when the two teams meet.

Magee also coached Carey to several first-team All-American honors, highlighted by The Sporting News and Walter Camp. A few more could come his way when the Associated Press and Football Writers' Association of America release their lists this week.

With the help of Magee, the 'Cats have ranked no lower than 12th nationally and third in the Pac-12 Conference in total offense. In three separate weeks, UA ranked as high as fourth in the country.

The finalists were selected based off of nominations by coaches, athletic directors and athletic department personnel. The prior winners selected Magee, who will receive his award and be recognized at an event at the AFCA Convention in January.

Tracy McDannaldTracy McDannald
GOAZCATS.com Senior Editor

Email Tracy
Follow Tracy on Twitter

Arizona NEWS


Latest Headlines:

Rivals.com is your source for: College Football | Football Recruiting | College Basketball | Basketball Recruiting | College Baseball | High School | College Merchandise
Site-specific editorial/photos GOAZCATS.com. All rights reserved. This website is an officially and independently operated source of news and information not affiliated with any school or team.
About | Advertise with Us | Contact | Privacy Policy | About our Ads | Terms of Service | Copyright/IP policy | Yahoo! Sports - NBC Sports Network

Statistical information 2014 STATS LLC All Rights Reserved.